November 15, 2011

WPA 2011 Championship Awards

The World Paddle Association (WPA) crowned the first-ever standup paddle World Champions and regional champions in 2011.  In addition to giving away custom wood paddles to each of the WPA World Champions made by the famous Elite paddler Ernie “EJ” Johnson they will also receive a “Platinum membership” and honored as life time members of the WPA.

All of the regional race series division winners will receive a two-year membership with second and third places receiving a one-year membership.  All winners will be able to add the awarded membership on their current memberships.  All of the regional winners will be announced in the following weeks as we finalize each region.

Additionally, the WPA will award the WPA National champions from the Hennessey’s-WPA National Championship a two year membership.  We congratulate all of WPA champions and we look forward to supporting your efforts in 2012 and for years to come.

Here are the list of WPA World and National champions for 2012:

World Champion

  • Jamie Mitchell – World Champion, 12’6
  • Chase Kosterlitz -World Champion, 14’
  • Brian Stockdale -World Champion, Unlimited
  • Candice Appleby – World Champion, 12’6 Women’s
  • Lance Erickson – World Champion, 12’6 50+
  • Mitch Kahn – World Champion, 14’ 50+
  • Thomas Mac – World Champion, Unlimited 50+
  • Betsy Risner – World Champion, 12’6 Women’s 50+

U.S. National Champion

  • Anthony Vela – U.S. National Champion, 12’6
  • Eric Starnes – U.S. National Champion, 14’
  • Thomas Shahinian – U.S. National Champion, Unlimited
  • Candice Appleby – U.S. National Champion, 12’6 Women
  • Joe Rowan – U.S. National Champion, 12’6 50+
  • Eric Starnes – U.S. National Champion, 14’ 50+
  • Chris Boland – U.S. National Champion, Unlimited 50+
  • Jericho Poppler – U.S. National Champion, 12’6 50+

Congratulations to all competitors and thank you for making the 2011 season the WPA’s most successful!